Skip to content
December 27, 2011 / lyndieloop

The Newbie Blanket

20111227-081900.jpg
I made this blanket for a gift. I wanted something simple and warm, so I used this pattern from Project Linus called Newbie, and I highly recommend it.  I made it about a foot larger, and crocheted until the whole thing was gone.  It turned out about crib size.  I used Lion Brand Pound of Love in a soft yellow and bordered it with Caron Simply soft.  I like how the border feels around it and I like how squishy and spungy the Pound of Love is.  When I started crocheting and knitting a few years ago, I was not attracted to synthetic fibers and wanted only to stitch using cotton, wool, bamboo .. it didn’t take long for me to decide acrylic isn’t such a bad thing, especially for a baby blanket that will get washed a lot.  Cotton can be heavy, stretch out of shape and be hard to dry in the dryer, but terrific for dishclothes and face cloths more than anything else. 

What I like about the Newbie blanket is it is simple, beautiful and dense with few holes.  The border is a combination of single crochet, sideways fan with the last row as bauble. I like the spongy little dots around it.  I made the border up as I went, so that was my own thing.

One thing I like about crochet for a blanket is that its thicker.  In crochet you go through two loops rather than one loop like you do for knitting.  Also, there aren’t many crocheted blankets you can find in the store.  I have assumed they have no machine to duplicate a hand made crocheted blanket.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. SenoraG / Dec 27 2011 11:18 pm

    That is very pretty. I will be checking out the pattern. Thank you for sharing.

    • Lynn / Dec 28 2011 1:39 pm

      Your welcome, it was easy and fun.

  2. Karen / Dec 30 2011 1:41 pm

    Really cute, I like the way it looks, thanks for the crochet tips on materials to use!

Leave a Reply

