Skip to content
April 19, 2013 / lyndieloop

Granny Bag

20130419-041515.jpg
I made this little purse out of granny squares I whip stitched together and lined with light blue flannel before sewing the whole thing into its final round shape. I used worsted weight yarn. If I were to do it again, I would take the green/blue squares and place them vertically in the center, but live and learn. In this case I didn’t want a very big bag, so I only did 4 rounds for each square. Here is a link to a traditional granny square which may help get you started: Traditional Granny Square

20130419-041744.jpg
I used this diagram to figure out how to place the squares.

20130419-042049.jpg
For the strap I did 4 rows of sc for every two rows of dc to add some texture. I made them long enough so the bag fits at my hip so that I can grab my wallet, keys or phone out of it easily.

If you want to make this bag and have any questions, I will be happy to help you out. If you do make it, feel free to post your pics. It would be fun to see what you come up with.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Patt77 / Apr 19 2013 6:01 pm

    Thank you for sharing, i like the style and the colors

Leave a Reply

